Mixed Bill of Rights

10Mar09

I love this video/bill of rights for so many reasons.  One of the hardest things about my own racial identity is that I feel like it must always mirror that of my families.  Because my fathers racial identity is always changing based on location and discussion topic it can be really confusing to think about my own identity.  It’s really affirming to be able to say that my racial identity is my own identity and does not have to be the same as my father, my mother, or my sisters.

I also loved the part of this clip where she discusses that racial identity isn’t completely static and that my racial identity can change over time and that because I identified differently as a child does not take away the validity of my current identity.

No Responses Yet to “Mixed Bill of Rights”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

