Coming Out as Fat

22Mar09

It has been interesting recently to start writing this blog and identifying myself as “fat,” like for many being a person of color, being disabled–being fat is something that is perceptible to those who see you.  It’s not something you necessarily have to name yourself as for people to perceive you as.  Which is why I think it’s interesting to think about the ways that blogging as made me “come out” as fat.  Declaring and claiming my identity as a fat womyn has been empowering because it gives me the space to declare the inequities I see, the fatphobia in marketing, be honest about how I’m feeling in different spaces, and generally feel more comfortable in my body.

I think it’s been weird for some of my friends, for my family and other people to find me getting political around my fatness.  Especially because it is something that is supposed to be full of shame and guilt that I should be constantly dieting, working to losing.  

I’m excited to start taking away the shame and come out as fat and beautiful!!!

No Responses Yet to “Coming Out as Fat”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

