SEX!–and fatness

27Mar09

Let’s get serious. Sex is amazing and it’s important that we are able to share openly with our partners about what we want and what feels good and what doesn’t. I know for me this is always complicated by my size.

I am waiting for the day when a book is published (and maybe I just haven’t found it) on sex positions for fat people. I’m sorry Karma Sutra, I cannot balance my entire body on the lower left quarter of my ass while simultaneously wrapping my legs around the head of my partner. It’s just not happening.

So I feel like I’m compounding the fact that I am insecure about sex and how to ask for what makes me feel best added by the reality that traditional sex positions may not be compatible with my own body. I want to challenge the fatphobia that exists in most sex books, sex stores, and our own sexual desires. It will involve a lot of trust and a little creativity but I’m sure I’ll figure it out, I’m deeply invested in achieving orgasms so I’ll have to make it work.

3 Responses to “SEX!–and fatness”

  1. 1 Leandro

    awesome blog! write more! wrote more!

  2. 2 Podgy

    Damn straight! You’ve got it right here! The fatphobia in people’s sexual desires and in sex books is a load of media-driven bullshit. There’s love and sex for people of all sizes out there. In fact, contrary to what the tv and adverts are constantly telling us being too skinny is not the only and best way to find a compatible person. It’s the best way to waste most of your life worrying and feeling hungry and generally being unhappy. Dawn French FTW

  3. 3 oakland

    The book exists!
    Big Big Love: A Sourcebook on Sex for People of Size and Those Who Love Them
    http://www.powells.com/biblio/62-1890159166-0


Leave a Reply

